About us

1949: The "Metallwarenfabrik Heinz-Kettler" started with six employees on 15 January 1949. Initially, "Metallwarenfabrik Heinz-Kettler" sold aluminium goods such as cookware and cake plates. The first successes were achieved with retail customers such as Karstadt, Kaufhalle and Woolworth...

1952: And yet: In 1952 Kettler gave up household goods. The competition was too big, reasonable economic profits could no longer be achieved. But the really promising successor production was already in the starting blocks: camping furniture and camping accessories for the tent industry.

1960: "Innovation" was the motto. Existing products were constantly improved, and the list of new products grew just as continuously. Above all, the product range in the areas of play equipment, winter sports and household helpers was expanded. At the end of 1960, the first KETTCAR rolled off the production line - Heinz Kettler had brought the idea for this four-wheeled children's vehicle with him from the USA.

1963: The range of camping and garden furniture became increasingly sophisticated and luxurious. At the beginning of the sixties, the Relax health lounger with its adjustable head and foot sections became a sales hit, and some people even used it as a TV armchair.

1968: And yet another product expanded the KETTLER range in the 60s: the bicycle, whose image changed for the better at that time. It was no longer the substitute for those who could not afford a car, but gained the reputation of a fitness and sports device.

In 1974, a new worldwide triumph was achieved: Heinz Kettler, for years one of the leading manufacturers of table tennis tables, had succeeded in developing the first table tennis table that was not affected by the weather.

1980 - 2005: Until his death in 2005, Heinz Kettler continued to successfully expand the KETTLER company, among other things by internationalising and founding sales companies in the largest sales markets in Europe and the USA.

Since 2020, the further development of the products garden furniture, table tennis, home training sports products, bicycles and games & children's toys has been carried out separately according to product areas and global-geographical areas under the leadership of various entrepreneurial families, all of whom were closely connected to the KETTLER family, in some cases for decades, either as major customers or suppliers, and who also see Heinz Kettler's principles of innovation, quality and customer proximity as their own principles in the further development of KETTLER's history.

Über KETTLER

1949: Mit sechs Mitarbeitern startete am 15. Januar 1949 die “Metallwarenfabrik Heinz-Kettler“.  Zunächst vertrieb die “Metallwarenfabrik Heinz-Kettler“ Aluminiumwaren wie Kochgeschirr und Tortenplatten.  Erste Erfolge stellten sich ein mit Handelskunden wie Karstadt, Kaufhalle und Woolworth…

1952: Und doch: 1952 gab Kettler die Haushaltswaren auf. Zu groß war die Konkurrenz, vernünftige wirtschaftliche Erträge waren nicht mehr zu erzielen. Doch die wirklich zukunftsträchtige Nachfolgeproduktion stand schon in den Startlöchern: Camping Möbel und Campingzubehör für die Zeltindustrie.

1960: „Innovation“ hieß das Motto. Bereits bestehende Produkte wurden ständig verbessert, ebenso kontinuierlich wuchs die Liste neuer Produkte. Vor allem die Produktpalette in den Bereichen Spielgeräte, Wintersport und Haushaltshelfer wurde ausgeweitet. Ende 1960 rollte das erste KETTCAR vom Band – die Idee zu diesem vierrädrigen Kinderfahrzeug hatte Heinz Kettler aus den USA mitgebracht.

1963: Immer ausgereifter und luxuriöser entwickelte sich das Programm der Camping- und Gartenmöbel. Anfang der Sechziger wurde die Relax-Gesundheitsliege mit ihrem verstellbaren Kopf- und Fußteil zum Verkaufsschlager, und mancher nutzte sie sogar als Fernsehsessel.

1968: Und noch ein Produkt erweiterte in den 60ern die KETTLER-Palette: Das Fahrrad, dessen Image sich damals zum Positiven änderte. Es war nicht länger der Ersatz für die, die sich kein Auto leisten konnten, sondern eroberte sich den Ruf eines Fitness- und Sportgerätes.

1974 gelang ein neuer weltweiter Triumph: Heinz Kettler, seit Jahren einer der führenden Hersteller von Tischtennistischen, war es gelungen, die erste Tischtennisplatte zu entwickeln, der keine Wetterallüren schadeten.

1980 - 2005: Bis zu seinem Tod in 2005 expandierte Heinz Kettler das Unternehmen KETTLER weiterhin erfolgreich u.a. auch durch die Internationalisierung und Gründung von Vertriebsgesellschaften in den grössten Absatzmärkten in Europa und USA.

Seit 2020 erfolgt die Weiterentwicklung der Produkte Gartenmöbel, Tischtennis, Heimtraining Sport Produkte, Fahrräder und Spiel & Kinderspielzeug nach Produktbereichen und global-geographischen Bereichen getrennt unter der Führung verschiedener Unternehmerfamilien, welche sämtliche teils jahrzehntelang entweder als Grosskunden oder Lieferanten in enger Verbindung mit der Familie KETTLER standen und die Grundsätze Heinz Kettlers von Innovation, Qualität und Kundennähe auch als ihre eigenen Grundsätze bei der Weiterentwicklung der Geschichte von KETTLER sehen.